Stopping by Woods one Snowy Day in Westport

I love the controversial – yes it is – Frost Poem “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening.” So simple, yet . . . well, forget the various interpretations. I love the poem simply for the visual images it evokes. And I like watching a woods fill up with snow. So when we got a nice gentle snow the other day I hitched up my 4-cylinder pony and headed for the woods. Not easy to find what I wanted. Too many of our woods are new and filled with brush – not what I imagine Frost seeing. I wanted something with some variety, not too much brush, and a scattering of old and new – plus a few evergreens. The snow was perfect. The third woods I found was just what I wanted.

One suggetsion – this is intended as contemplative, so you might try sticking with this video the second minute – after the poem has left the screen.

Oh – the camera was the little – very inexpensive – Flip. If you don’t know about this little gem, here’s a quick intro.

One Response

  1. I used to begin poetry unit with this poem–imagery, rhyme and rhythm etc. And I would have to counter the critics who called it a death wish–having grown up near the woods in Vermont, I did not jump to that conclusion. Despite the symbolic inferences some make from it being winter, I found the constant and unvarying iambic tetrameter contradicting that idea. Then I read that Frost himself said it did not represent a death wish or anticipation. Lovely picture.

Leave a Reply

